How to Make a Lovely Swirly Rainbow Cake!

21 Sep

This is something I like to make when I need to make a dessert. It’s easy, it’s cheap, kids love it and it’s not heavy on calories- it’s made with Angel Food!

Rainbow Cake

The Finished Cake


You will need

  • Angel Food Mix
  • Food Coloring¬† (I used these Neon Food Colors however you can use regular Food Coloring, or both and mix up your own colors!
  • An Angel Food Pan, or a deep cake pan
  • Mixing bowls- one for each color you will use

Now mix the Angel Food cake according to package directions. If my memory serves me correctly, you just mix the powder with water. SO SIMPLE!

Then you will separate the mix into bowls. Here I used three colors

Mixing Bowls

Bowls of Colorful Cake Mix

Drop in a few droplets of a single color into each bowl and stir. It only takes a few droplets to get vivid color! If you need to add more, go ahead.

Now comes the fun part!

Take a small spoonful of one color. Drop it into the middle of the cake pan.

Take a spoonful of the next color. Drop it right in the middle of that blop of cake batter.

Take a spoonful of the next color, and drop it right in the middle of that one.

Keep going and it will eventually look like this!

Yummy Colors

Yummy Circles of Color!

Then when you’re all out of batter, stick it in the oven! Just follow the directions on the package.

Here is a different finished cake where I used all 4 colors

Yum Rainbow Cake!

Yum Rainbow Cake!

3 Responses to “How to Make a Lovely Swirly Rainbow Cake!”

  1. Sally November 4, 2010 at 2:08 PM #

    I am sharing this recipe with my Mommies Group- they will love it! And, of course, I am definitely going to give it a try. Would it work as cupcakes?? And did you use an angelfood pan or just a regular pan?

    • Courtleigh November 4, 2010 at 2:16 PM #

      Awesome! I am sure it would work as cupcakes, just drop the batter in each cupcake the same way. I did not use an angel food pan, just a circular cake pan, and that only holds about half of the batter from an Angel Food package. I recently made this recipe with confetti white cake, and that works, too, but you would definitely need icing. Angel Food cake tastes great on it’s own though! But I think the funfetti icing would go perfectly with rainbow white cake! If you covered up the whole cake it would be a fun surprise for the kiddos to cut into it!

  2. Rita November 8, 2010 at 7:24 PM #

    This cake looks so delicious… I really wish I could have some

Leave a Reply

