Searching for Fall Color

3 Oct
Headed up to Guanella Pass to take some pictures of the turning leaves. I heard it was at peak color this weekend, and it was about the closest place I could drive to get some good views.

Geneva Creek, Guanella Pass, originally uploaded by courtleigh.

Once I got onto 285, before I was anywhere close to Guanella Pass, near Conifer at about 6500 ft, there was lots of color! So many places I wanted to stop along the road, but I kept going. I knew there were some good spots along the pass along this river, which I learned was called Geneva Creek. I also head read that Kenosha Pass was at peak color, which was just a bit up the road from there.

Guanella Pass Road had some nice color, seems like next week the colors may be even better since there was still a good amount of green here.

Guanella Pass Road

Guanella Pass Road

Color by the creek

Color by the creek

I took some good shots at Guanella, and then headed over to Kenosha. Sadly all the leaves here were gone! There were a few lone trees still clinging to them, though.

Still hanging on to those leaves

Still hanging on to those leaves

On the way back, the sun was setting, and the leaves were blazing with color. I just had to pull over and get some shots. Thankfully, there were a few spots along 285 where you could safely do so.

Somewhere near Shawnee

Somewhere near Shawnee

Fall Reflection

Fall Reflection

I’d still love to check out Independence Pass area, however I think next weekend it may be too late. Perhaps Golden Gate Canyon will be looking nice!

***I have uploaded some more shots to my Flickr….check out the sidebar on my home page or click the big photo at the top of this post!!!

Leave a Reply

