Birthday Mittens

6 Oct
Birthday Mittens

Made these for a friend from work. Her birthday was last week, and yes it’s still fall, but it’s gets cold here pretty fast!

I used up the rest of the yarn from my other project, covering an old pair of headphones to make these mittens. I used a free pattern from Sue’s Crochet and Knitting site. They worked up pretty quickly, and probably one of the fastest projects I’ve done! Considering it takes me months to finish other projects, and I currently have one unpaired mitten for myself, and another I’ve made for another friend, I think I did pretty well finishing in one week 🙂

8 Responses to “Birthday Mittens”

  1. Jo October 31, 2010 at 8:05 PM #

    I finished the mitten part, but I do not know what you mean by picking up 7 stitches at the thumb.. beginner doing mittens..Please let me know..thanks

    • Courtleigh November 1, 2010 at 1:10 AM #

      It just means to stitch along the opening you made for the thumb. There isn’t exactly a row there, but just insert your hook in loops and make an SC, so that as you stitch around, the thumb will be attached to the mitten! Does that make sense? Let me know if you need more detailed help.

    • Annette Ball September 24, 2017 at 1:41 PM #

      It just means sc in the next 7 stitches thats all, just continue around with your single crochet.

  2. susan o'brien November 18, 2010 at 9:01 AM #

    Wow i just made one of these mittens too and that was my question also about picking up 7 sts, thank you for your help. I love the pattern, now i just have to make the other mitten, you did a beautiful job on you mittens love the colours………….cheers…….susan

  3. Martine B. November 4, 2011 at 6:59 AM #

    I am a beginner and this is my first (successful) mitten! Now lets hope the 2nd one matches 😉 THANK YOU!

  4. Wendy Barker October 9, 2015 at 8:48 AM #

    A friend is making these and asked me to help interpret the pattern. Are these knit flat or in the round. Rows suggest flat, but there is no indication of seaming anywhere. Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated!

    • Courtleigh October 9, 2015 at 11:48 AM #

      Well, they are crochet, not knit, so that may be where your friend is having the problem. They are somewhat crocheted ‘in a circle’ that gets progressively smaller towards the top/ends of the fingers, then is stitched (seamed) closed.

    • Annette Ball September 24, 2017 at 1:42 PM #

      These mittens are crocheted not knitted in the round. no seaming at all.

Leave a Reply

