Delicious Thai Spiced Pumpkin Soup

26 Nov
Pumpkin Soup

I had so much fun cooking for Thanksgiving this year. I tried 4 new things, and I think they all came out pretty well. My favorite was this recipe I tried from 101cookbooks, an amazing site with veggie/vegan recipes. This is SO EASY, and you must try it for your late Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner.

The recipe calls for a pumpkin or a squash, halving it, and putting it in the oven for an hour, and then pureeing it. If you don’t have that kind of patience, all you need is this: Canned Pumpkin, Can of Coconut Milk, and some Thai Red Curry Paste. Empty the pumpkin and coconut milk into a pot over medium heat. Stir. Add as much curry paste as you want! I started with about a teaspoon, and probably ended up adding 4 altogether. Had I been making this just for myself, I would have added much more, but I didn’t want it to be too spicy for everyone. You have to make sure the curry paste gets blended in well, because it is very thick. I would press it up against the sides of the pot to help the process.  I also added some ginger. I bought a tiny piece of fresh ginger, peeled it, and put it into a garlic press, and squeezed it over the pot. It just squeezed out the oil, which was nice, because I didn’t want any bits of anything in my soup.  The soup was delicious, and I actually don’t really like soup, let alone a pumpkin soup! Today I am going to try making this with an actual pumpkin. Though I don’t have an immersion blender, I think a hand blender will do just fine. We will see!

Also, a note about the curry paste. I did not find this at my local Safeway in the Asian foods section. I had to go to another store  (King Soopers, yeah, weird name, but it’s basically a Kroger), and they had it in their Asian section. Only one they had was the “Thai” brand. If you have an Asian grocery nearby, I would definitely go there to buy curry paste. Much larger selection. My Asian grocery is about 20 minutes away, and Thanksgiving was not a day I felt like going even that far. Now, you could also make your own curry paste, which would involve grinding up chiles in a pestle and mortar, along with other ingredients such as ginger, galangal, lemongrass, which you can find at the Asian grocery. And you could make this as spicy as you wanted!

Dinner Time

2 Responses to “Delicious Thai Spiced Pumpkin Soup”

  1. E.T. November 26, 2010 at 5:22 PM #

    Your recipe looks easy and delicious. I should try to make it. Looks like you’re getting to be a pretty darn good cook and I’m really amazed.

    • Courtleigh November 26, 2010 at 6:35 PM #

      Thanks, Mom! You should definitely try this, you would like it.

Leave a Reply

